Postpartum Shedding Vs. Your Natural Hair

After giving birth to my little girl, I had absolutely no idea that within a few short months my luscious thick hair that I received from the pregnancy would fall right from my head in handfuls. So, when it did happen, I was devasted. Postpartum shedding started out a nightmare, especially because I had little to no knowledge about why it was happening. But eventually, after my own experience and doing research, I’ve learned a few simple ways to slow down my excessive hair loss.

What it Postpartum Shedding?

Basically, while you are pregnant, a specific hormone stops your hair from shedding, making your hair fuller but, around three or so months after you give birth that same hormone is released and the extra hair you gained while pregnant falls out.  Though, not every mother will experience postpartum hair loss.

X out Blow Dryers/ Flat Irons

Applying direct heat to your hair may cause even more shedding. So it is probably best to stay away from blow dryers and flat iron.

Be Extra Careful Detangling and Styling

Since your hair is now prone to breakage you should avoid unnecessary detangling as much as possible. Wearing protective styles is one way to avoid detangling all together.

Supplements

Continue taking prenatal vitamins even after you’ve given birth. Prenatal vitamins contain folic acid which helps your body maintain new cells and also treats deficiencies.

 

Leave a Reply

